

townhall.virginia.gov

# Final Regulation Agency Background Document

Agency name	Board of Audiology & Speech-Language Pathology; Department of Health Professions
Virginia Administrative Code (VAC) citation(s)	18VAC30-20-10 et seq. 18VAC30-21-10 et seq.
Regulation title(s)	Regulations Governing the Practice of Audiology & Speech-Language Pathology
Action title	Periodic review – promulgation of Chapter 21
Date this document prepared	2/24/16

This information is required for executive branch review and the Virginia Registrar of Regulations, pursuant to the Virginia Administrative Process Act (APA), Executive Orders 17 (2014) and 58 (1999), and the Virginia Register Form, Style, and Procedure Manual.

## **Brief summary**

Please provide a brief summary of the proposed new regulation, proposed amendments to the existing regulation, or the regulation proposed to be repealed. Alert the reader to all substantive matters or changes. If applicable, generally describe the existing regulation.

The Board has repealed Chapter 20 and adopted a revised set of regulations in Chapter 21 to reorganize sections and provisions more logically and with more clarity. Revisions to current regulations include: 1) a change in continuing competency requirements from 30 hours within two years to 10 hours annually, offered by an approved sponsor or provider; 2) less burdensome rules for re-entry into practice; 3) elimination of barriers to provisional licensure; and 4) more explicit rules for patient confidentiality, maintenance of records and violations of professional boundaries.

### **Acronyms and Definitions**

Please define all acronyms used in the Agency Background Document. Also, please define any technical terms that are used in the document that are not also defined in the "Definition" section of the regulations.

ASHA = American Speech-Language-Hearing Association

SHAV= Speech-Language-Hearing Association of Virginia

SLP=Speech-Language Pathologist

## Statement of final agency action

Please provide a statement of the final action taken by the agency including:1) the date the action was taken;2) the name of the agency taking the action; and 3) the title of the regulation.

On February 18, 2016, the Board of Audiology and Speech-Language Pathology repealed 18VAC30-20-10 et seq., and adopted 18VAC30-21-10 et seq., Regulations Governing the Practice of Audiology and Speech-Language Pathology.

# Legal basis

Please identify the state and/or federal legal authority to promulgate this proposed regulation, including: 1) the most relevant citations to the Code of Virginia or General Assembly chapter number(s), if applicable; and 2) promulgating entity, i.e., agency, board, or person. Your citation should include a specific provision authorizing the promulgating entity to regulate this specific subject or program, as well as a reference to the agency/board/person's overall regulatory authority.

**18VAC30-20-10 et seq. Regulations Governing the Practice of Audiology & Speech-Language Pathology** are promulgated under the general authority of Chapter 24 of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia. Section 54.1-2400 (6) provides the Board of Audiology & Speech-Language Pathology the authority to promulgate regulations to administer the regulatory system:

*§ 54.1-2400 -General powers and duties of health regulatory boards The general powers and duties of health regulatory boards shall be:* 

6. To promulgate regulations in accordance with the Administrative Process Act (§ 9-6.14:1 et seq.) which are reasonable and necessary to administer effectively the regulatory system. Such regulations shall not conflict with the purposes and intent of this chapter or of Chapter 1 (§ 54.1-100 et seq.) and Chapter 25 (§ 54.1-2500 et seq.) of this title. ...

Authority for the Board and for licensure of professions under the Board is found in Chapter 26 of Title 54.1 and specifically:

#### § 54.1-2603. License required.

*A.* In order to practice audiology or speech pathology, it shall be necessary to hold a valid license.

B. Notwithstanding the provisions of subdivision 2 of § 54.1-2601 or any Board regulation, the Board of Audiology and Speech-Language Pathology shall license, as school speech-language pathologists, persons licensed by the Board of Education with an endorsement in speechlanguage pathology and a master's degree in speech-language pathology. The Board of Audiology and Speech-Language Pathology shall issue licenses to such persons without examination, upon review of credentials and payment of an application fee in accordance with regulations of the Board for school speech-language pathologists.

Persons holding such licenses as school speech-language pathologists, without examination, shall practice solely in public school divisions; holding a license as a school speech-language pathologist pursuant to this section shall not authorize such persons to practice outside the school setting or in any setting other than the public schools of the Commonwealth, unless such individuals are licensed by the Board of Audiology and Speech-Language Pathology to offer to the public the services defined in § 54.1-2600.

The Board shall issue persons, holding dual licenses from the Board of Education with an endorsement in speech-language pathology and from the Board of Audiology and Speech-Language Pathology as school speech-language pathologists, a license which notes the limitations on practice set forth in this subsection.

Persons who hold licenses issued by the Board of Audiology and Speech-Language Pathology without these limitations shall be exempt from the requirements of this subsection.

#### § 54.1-2604. Provisional license in audiology or speech-language pathology.

The Board may issue a provisional license to an applicant for licensure in audiology or speechlanguage pathology who has met the educational and examination requirements for licensure, to allow for the applicant to obtain clinical experience as specified in the Board's regulations. However, a person practicing with a provisional license in audiology shall practice only under the supervision of a licensed audiologist and a person practicing with a provisional license in speech-language pathology shall practice only under the supervision of a licensed speechlanguage pathologist in accordance with regulations established by the Board.

#### **Purpose**

Please explain the need for the new or amended regulation. Describe the rationale or justification of the proposed regulatory action. Describe the specific reasons the regulation is essential to protect the health, safety or welfare of citizens. Discuss the goals of the proposal and the problems the proposal is intended to solve.

In order to arrange the regulations governing the practice of audiology and speech-language pathology in a more understandable, logical manner, the Board voted to repeal the current chapter and promulgated a replacement chapter.

Substantively, the qualifications for licensure in audiology will not change, but applicants for licensure in speech-language pathology will be required to demonstrate clinical competency by professional credentialing through ASHA. This regulatory action is consistent with changes proposed through a fast-track action relating to provisional licensure (Action 4054). Requirements for reactivation and reinstatement of licensure are less burdensome to encourage practitioners to re-enter the workforce. Continuing education requirements are modified to reflect annual renewals and to eliminate the Type 1 and Type 2 categories. Rather than 30 hours every two years, the Board proposes a requirement of 10 hours every year with the ability to transfer or credit excess hours to the next renewal year.

Additionally, the grounds for unprofessional conduct are expanded to include problematic conduct for which the Board currently has no grounds for disciplinary action. Consistent with the Board's responsibility to protect the health and safety of the public, it proposes additional grounds for disciplinary action for causes such as revocation, suspension or restriction by another regulatory board, failure to comply with laws on patient confidentiality and provision of records, and actions that would constitute a professional boundary violation.

# Substance

Please briefly identify and explain the new substantive provisions, the substantive changes to existing sections, or both.

As stated above, Chapter 20 will be repealed to allow a clearer, more logical reorganization of regulations. In the major parts of regulations, the following changes have been adopted:

#### General Provisions:

- New definitions for words and terms used in revised regulations will be added, such as "active practice" and "ASHA"; terms no longer used will be eliminated, such as "Type 1" and "Type 2." For consistency the term "client", rather than "patient" will be used throughout the regulations and included in the definitions.
- The requirement for posting a license will be amended to allow licensees to carry copies of their licenses to accommodate those who travel between facilities.
- A requirement for furnishing legal proof to the Board evidencing a name change will be added for consistency with Board policy.
- There are no changes proposed in the application or renewal fees.

#### Requirements for Licensure

- General application requirements for all professions will be set out in one section. The Board decided to require an attestation of having read the statutes and regulations rather than initiating a jurisprudence examination.
- Qualifications for initial licensure are simplified into one section; both audiologists and speech-language pathologists will be required to obtain a professional credential certifying graduation from an accredited educational program, passage of the examination and completion of supervised clinical experience.
- All requirements relating to provisional licensure, whether issued to obtain clinical experience for initial licensure or to practice for a period under supervision in order to qualify for licensure by endorsement, reactivation or reinstatement, are placed in one section rather than scattered throughout the chapter. Amendments to provisional licensure include speech-language pathologists as authorized by legislation passed in the 2013 General Assembly. Two barriers to provisional licensure are eliminated.
- Requirements for licensure by endorsement are modified to require less continuing education, allow a license in another state to be lapsed but eligible for reinstatement, and have one of the past three years of active practice. Currently, an applicant can qualify by documentation of a current license and active practice for three of the past five years.

#### Renewal and Continuing Competency (CE)

- Proposal for a reduction in the number of required CE hours from 30 hours every two years to 10 hours per year; the 10 hours would have to be verifiable by a recognizable sponsor, educational institution or organization.
- Elimination of Type 1 and Type 2 designated CE
- Addition of ability to carryover up to 10 hours of CE to the next renewal period.

#### Reactivation and Reinstatement

- Reactivation of an inactive license is less burdensome because the number of CE hours that may be required is capped at 30 or an applicant may submit current ASHA certification. If an inactive licensee has not reactivated within five years, he would be able to show active practice in another jurisdiction for one of the past three years or practice under supervision with a provisional license.
- Reinstatement of a lapsed license is also less burdensome with requirements similar to those for reactivation.

#### Standards of Practice

- The Board has added language on supervisory responsibilities that the practitioner is not prohibited from delegating to an unlicensed assistant such activities or functions as are nondiscretionary and do not require the exercise of professional judgment for their performance.
- The Board has added language to address patient confidentiality, records retention, professional boundaries, advertising and disciplinary action taken by another professional regulatory agency.

#### Issues

Please identify the issues associated with the proposed regulatory action, including: 1) the primary advantages and disadvantages to the public, such as individual private citizens or businesses, of implementing the new or amended provisions; 2) the primary advantages and disadvantages to the agency or the Commonwealth; and 3) other pertinent matters of interest to the regulated community, government officials, and the public. If there are no disadvantages to the public or the Commonwealth, please indicate.

- The primary advantage to the public is clearer, more explicit rules for client confidentiality and records, professional boundaries and delegation of tasks to unlicensed assistants. In addition, greater clarity in licensure and renewal requirements will encourage compliance with regulations to the benefit of licensees and the clients they serve. There are less burdensome requirements for persons who may want to re-enter the workforce through reinstatement or reactivation and for applicants for licensure by endorsement to encourage more practitioners who can provide professional services to clients. There are no disadvantages.
- 2) There are no advantages or disadvantages to the agency or the Commonwealth, except the logical order of the revised regulation and more clarity in the rules may reduce the number of questions to staff and problems with non-compliance.
- 3) There are no other pertinent matters.

## **Requirements more restrictive than federal**

Please identify and describe any requirement of the proposal which is more restrictive than applicable federal requirements. Include a rationale for the need for the more restrictive requirements. If there are no applicable federal requirements or no requirements that exceed applicable federal requirements, include a statement to that effect.

There are no applicable federal requirements.

# Localities particularly affected

Please identify any locality particularly affected by the proposed regulation. Locality particularly affected means any locality which bears any identified disproportionate material impact which would not be experienced by other localities.

There are no localities particularly affected.

# **Family impact**

Please assess the impact of this regulatory action on the institution of the family and family stability including to what extent the regulatory action will: 1) strengthen or erode the authority and rights of parents in the education, nurturing, and supervision of their children; 2) encourage or discourage economic self-sufficiency, self-pride, and the assumption of responsibility for oneself, one's spouse, and one's children and/or elderly parents; 3) strengthen or erode the marital commitment; and 4) increase or decrease disposable family income.

There is no impact on the family.

## Changes made since the proposed stage

Please list all changes that made to the text of the proposed regulation and the rationale for the changes; explain the new requirements and what they mean rather than merely quoting the proposed text of the regulation. \*Please put an asterisk next to any substantive changes.

There were changes made in sections 60 and 131 to incorporate regulatory actions that became effective since the submission of proposed regulations on Townhall. There were no other changes.

#### **Public comment**

Please <u>summarize</u> all comments received during the public comment period following the publication of the proposed stage, and provide the agency response. If no comment was received, please so indicate. Please distinguish between comments received on Town Hall versus those made in a public hearing or submitted directly to the agency or board.

All comments were received on Townhall. There were no comments at the public hearing held on December 11, 2015.

Commenter	Comment	Agency response
26 persons commented on Townhall	All supported the proposed regulation in Chapter 21, especially the changes in the continuing education requirements	The Board appreciates the comments in support.
Ann Ferrell	Objected to the lower fee for school speech-language pathologists.	The Board considered the comment but did not amend. Consistently across all health regulatory boards, persons who hold limited licenses are subject to lower fees than those who hold full licensure and can practice in any setting.

# All changes made in this regulatory action

Please list all changes that are being proposed and the consequences of the proposed changes. Describe new provisions and/or all changes to existing sections. Explain the new requirements and what they mean rather than merely quoting the proposed text of the regulation

Chapter 20 is being repealed and replaced by Chapter 21 in order to reorganize regulations in a more logical manner.

Secti on num	Proposed requirements	Other regulations and law that apply	Intent and likely impact of proposed requirements
on	Definitions A. The words and terms "audiologist," "board," "practice of audiology," "practice of speech- language pathology," "speech-language disorders," and "speech-language pathologist" when used in this chapter shall have the meanings ascribed to them in § 54.1-2600 of the Code of Virginia. B. The following words when used in this chapter shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly indicates otherwise: "Active practice" means a minimum of 160 hours of professional practice as an audiologist or speech-language pathologist for each 12-month period immediately preceding application for licensure. Active practice may include supervisory, administrative, educational, research or consultative activities or responsibilities for the delivery of such services. "ASHA" means the American Speech-Language-Hearing Association. "Client" means a patient or person receiving services in audiology or speech-language pathology. "Contact hour" means 60 minutes of time spent in continuing learning activities. "School speech-language pathologist" means a person licensed pursuant to § 54.1-2603 of the Code of		
	pursuant to § 54.1-2603 of the Code of Virginia to provide speech-language pathology services solely in public school divisions. "Supervision" means that the audiologist or speech-language pathologist is		

	responsible for the entire service being		
	rendered or activity being performed, is		
	available for consultation, and is		
	providing regular monitoring and		
	documentation of clinical activities and		
	competencies of the person being		
	supervised.		
20	Required licenses; posting of licenses A. There shall be separate licenses for the practices of audiology and speech-language pathology. It is prohibited for any person to practice as an audiologist or a speech-language pathologist unless the person has been issued the appropriate license. B. A licensee shall post his license in a place conspicuous to the public in each facility in which the licensee is employed and holds himself out to practice. If it is not practical to post the license, the licensee shall provide a copy of his license upon request.	Subsection A is currently found in section 45 of Chapter 20 Subsection B is currently found in section 50 of Chapter 20	There is no new impact on licensees, as this section is a restatement of current rule. Additional language in subsection B allows someone to provide a copy of his license upon request if it is not practical to post his license in the facility where he is working. That change is far more reasonable for licensees who work in large health care facilities or who rotate among a number of work settings.
30	Records; accuracy of information A. All changes of name, address of record or public address, if different from the address of record, shall be furnished to the board within 30 days after the change occurs. B. A licensee who has changed his name shall submit as legal proof to the board a copy of the marriage certificate, a certification of naturalization, or court order evidencing the change. A duplicate license shall be issued by the board upon receipt of such evidence and the required fee. C. All notices required by law and by this chapter to be mailed by the board to any registrant or licensee shall be validly served when mailed to the latest address of record on file with the board.	Subsection A is currently subsection A of section 70 in Chapter 20. Subsection B is a new requirement. Subsection C is currently subsection C of section 70 in Chapter 20.	Subsection B is current policy for evidence of a name change and issuance of a new license, but it has not been stated in regulation for this board as it is for other boards.
40	<b>Fees required</b> Subsection A establishes the fees that shall be paid as applicable for licensure. Subsection B states: Fees shall be made	All fees in subsection A are identical to current fees set forth in section 80.	There is no new impact on licensees, as this section is identical to the current rule.
	payable to the Treasurer of Virginia and shall not be refunded once submitted	Requirement is subsection B is identical to subsection B of section 80 in current regulation.	
50	Application requirements A. A person seeking licensure as an audiologist, a speech-language pathologist, or a school speech-language	Subsection A (##1-3) are currently found in subsection A of section 180.	

	<ul> <li>pathologist shall submit: <ol> <li>A completed and signed application;</li> <li>The applicable fee prescribed in 18VAC30-21-40;</li> <li>Documentation as required by the board to determine if the applicant has met the qualifications for licensure;</li> <li>An attestation that the applicant has read, understands and will comply with the statutes and regulations governing the practice of audiology or speech-language pathology; and</li> <li>If licensed or certified in another</li> <li>S. jurisdiction, verification of the status of the license or certification from each jurisdiction in which licensure or certification is held.</li> <li>B. An incomplete application package shall be retained by the board for a period of one year from the date the application is not completed within the year, an applicant shall reapply and pay a new application fee.</li> </ol> </li> </ul>	<ul> <li>#4 is a new requirement for an attestation that the applicant is familiar with the laws and regulations governing practice</li> <li>#5 is a new requirement for verification of the status of licensure in another jurisdiction</li> <li>Subsection B is found in subsection B of section 180, but the one-year period is more explicitly stated to begin on the date the application is received by the board. The proposed regulation also states the current policy of the board to require a new application and fee after the one-year retention period.</li> </ul>	Other health profession boards either require an attestation or a passage of a jurisprudence examination. The Board did not want to impose a new burden and cost for applicants by requiring an examination. The Board currently requires verification of licensure status in another state, but it is not specifically stated in regulations. It is a public safety issues to ensure that Virginia is not licensing a person whose licensed has been suspended or revoked or for whom there is sufficient cause to deny licensure in Virginia Subsection B clarifies current policy for retention of applications and is consistent with departmental policies on retention of
60	<ul> <li>Qualifications for initial licensure.</li> <li>A. The board may grant an initial license to an applicant for licensure in audiology or speech-language pathology who: <ol> <li>Holds a current and unrestricted Certificate of Clinical Competence issued by ASHA or certification issued by the American Board of Audiology or any other accrediting body recognized by the board. Verification of currency shall be in the form of a certified letter from a recognized accrediting body issued within six months prior to filing an application for licensure; and</li> <li>Has passed the qualifying examination from an accrediting body recognized by the board.</li> </ol> </li> <li>B. The board may grant a license to an applicant as a school speech-language pathologist who holds a master's degree in speech-language-pathology.</li> <li>C. Any individual who holds an active, renewable license issued by the Virginia Board of Education with a valid endorsement in speech-language pathology on June 30, 2014, shall be</li> </ul>	The requirements in section 60 are currently in subsection A of section 170. However, the requirement for passage of the qualifying examination within three years preceding the date of applying or active practice for one of the past three years has been eliminated. This section is re-titled "Qualifications for <i>initial</i> licensure." If an applicant has already been licensed in another jurisdiction, he must apply for licensure by endorsement. An applicant for <i>initial</i> licensure would not have practice in another jurisdiction but would likely have passed the examination within the past 3 years.	The intent is to remove any unnecessary barriers to licensure while ensuring minimal competency to practice. The amendments in subsection B and C were made in the final action to incorporate changes in the licensure of school speech- language pathologists that became effective on 8/13/14.

	deemed qualified to obtain a school speech-language pathologist license from the board until July 1, 2016, or the	Subsection B is identical to subsection C in current regulations and consistent	
	date of expiration of such person's license issued by the Virginia Board of Education, whichever is later.	with § 54.1-2603 of the Code of Virginia.	
		Current subsection B (pertaining to licensure for speech-language pathologists) is deleted because the Board proposes to require a certificate of clinical competency for applicants in speech-language pathology as well as audiology. The language in section 60 is consistent with regulations for provisional licensure adopted pursuant to Chapter 436 of the 2013 Acts of the Assembly.	
70	Provisional licensure A. Provisional license to qualify for initial licensure. An applicant may be issued a provisional license in order to obtain clinical experience required for certification by ASHA, the American Board of Audiology or any other accrediting body recognized by the board. To obtain a provisional license in order to qualify for initial licensure, the applicant shall submit documentation that he: 1. Has passed the qualifying examination from an accrediting body recognized by the board; and 2. For provisional licensure in audiology, has successfully completed all the didactic coursework required for the doctoral degree as documented by a college or university whose audiology program is accredited by the Council on Academic Accreditation of ASHA or an equivalent accrediting body; or 3. For provisional licensure in speech-language pathology, has successfully completed all the didactic coursework required for a graduate program in speech- language pathology as documented	Because of passage of Chapter 436 of the 2013 Acts of the Assembly, the Board now has the authority to issue a provisional license to an applicant in speech- language pathology. Therefore, section 70 differs from the current regulation in that it is applicable to both professions, not just audiology. Provisional licensure for speech- language pathologists has already been adopted and submitted in Action 4054/Stage 6703. Provisions of subsection A are currently found in subsection A of section 171, but two barriers to a provisional license have been eliminated. Currently, an applicant for a provisional license to qualify for initial licensure must be	The deletion of two requirements for provisional licensure will enable a few applicants to qualify who are ineligible under the current regulations. Applicants for licensure in speech- language pathology who do not currently meet requirements for licensure by endorsement, reactivation or reinstatement will now be able to obtain a provisional license in order to verify current clinical competency.

by a college or university whose	e <i>"currently enrolled</i> in a	
program is accredited by the	doctoral program."	
Council on Academic Accredita		
of the American Speech-Langua	age- must have passed the	
Hearing Association or an	exam within the past 3	
equivalent accrediting body.	years. That prohibits	
B. Provisional license to qualif		
endorsement or re-entry into pra		
An applicant may be issue		
provisional license in order to quality		
licensure by endorsement pursual		
18VAC30-21-80, reactivation of	1	
inactive license pursuant to subsect		
of 18VAC30-21-110 or reinstateme	e	
a lapsed license pursuant to subsect		
of 18VAC30-21-120.	Provisions of subsection	
C. All provisional licenses		
expire 18 months from the dat		
issuance and may be renewed for		
additional six months by submission		
renewal form and payment of a ren fee. Renewal of a provisional lie		
beyond 24 months shall be for	good audiologist seeking	
cause shown as determined by		
committee of the board.	license is currently not	
D. The holder of a provis		
license in audiology shall only pra		
under the supervision of a lice		
audiologist and the holder of		
provisional license in speech-lang		
pathology shall only practice under		
supervision of a licensed sp		
language pathologist. The provis		
licensee shall be responsible		
accountable for the safe performan	ce of subsection C of section	
those direct client care tasks to which	ch he 171.	
has been assigned.		
E. Licensed audiologists or sp		The requirement for 3 years of
	iding E are currently found in	experience to supervise a
supervision shall:	subsection D of section	provisional licensee is necessary to
1. Notify the board electronical		ensure sufficient clinical
in writing of the intent to pro-		experience by the supervisor to
supervision for a provis		monitor performance and be
licensee;	provisional licensee have	accountable for appropriate
2. Have an active, current lie		assignment of tasks and patients.
and at least three years of a		
practice as an audiologist or sp		
language pathologist prior	to	
providing supervision;	and	
3. Document the frequency		
nature of the supervision	of	
provisional licensees;	tabla	
4. Be responsible and account		
for the assignment of clients		
tasks based on their assessmen		l

80	evaluation of the provisional licensee's knowledge and skills; and 5. Monitor clinical performance and intervene if necessary for the safety and protection of the clients. F. The identity of a provisional licensee shall be disclosed to the client prior to treatment and shall be made a part of the client's file.	Provisions of subsection F are currently found in subsection E of section 171.	
80	Qualificationsforlicensurebyendorsement.An applicant for licensure inaudiology or speech-language pathologywho has been licensed in another U. S.jurisdiction may apply for licensure inVirginia in accordance with applicationrequirements in 18VAC30-20-50 andsubmission of documentation of:1. Ten continuing education hoursfor each year in which he has beenlicensed in the other jurisdiction, not toexceed 30 hours, or a current andunrestricted Certificate of ClinicalCompetence in the area in which heseeks licensure issued by ASHA orcertification issued by the AmericanBoard of Audiology or any otheraccrediting body recognized by theboard. Verification of currency shall bein the form of a certified letter from arecognized accrediting body issuedwithin six months prior to filing anapplication for licensure;2. Passage of the qualifyingexamination from an accrediting bodyrecognized by the board;3. Current status of licensure inanother U.S. jurisdiction showing thatno disciplinary action is pending orunresolved. The board may deny arequest for licensure to any applicantwho has been determined to havecommitted an act in violation of18VAC30-21-160; and4. Evidence of active practice inanother U. S. jurisdiction for at least oneof the past three years or practice for sixmonths with a provisional license in <td>Requirements for licensure by endorsement in section 80 are taken from section 185 in current regulations. The differences are: #1 – Current regulations require documentation of 15 hours of CE for each year the applicant has been licensed for a maximum of 60 hours; proposed regulations require 10 hours for each year for a maximum of 30 hours. #2 – Current regulations permit an applicant to either meet the qualifications for initial licensure or provide evidence of active practice for 3 of the past 5 years. In the amended regulation, passage of the qualifying examination is required for licensure. #3 – Currently, regulations require a <i>"current</i> license" in another jurisdiction <i>in the</i> <i>U.S.</i>; proposed regulations allow the license to be lapsed but eligible for reinstatement and in another U. S. jurisdiction. Current regulations specify that the applicant</td> <td><ul> <li>#1 – Ten hours per year is consistent with the proposed requirement for renewal of an active license in Virginia. In the proposed regulation, the maximum hourly requirement would be 30 hours versus the current 60 hours and would be much less burdensome. An applicant may use a current certificate from ASHA or ABA to satisfy the continuing education requirement.</li> <li>#2 – The Board has determined that evidence of an examination is necessary to ensure that minimum competency to practice in Virginia can be assured. Current certification from ASHA or ABA would provide such evidence because those credentialing bodies require graduate degrees and passage of an examination for issuance of certification. If the applicant has not maintained current certification, he can provide an exam score to verify qualification.</li> <li>#3 - The proposed regulations will allow an applicant with a lapsed license in another jurisdiction to be licensed by endorsement without having to meet requirements for initial licensure, if the licensee is eligible for reinstatement. Current regulations restrict licensure by endorsement to a licensee of another state in the</li> </ul></td>	Requirements for licensure by endorsement in section 80 are taken from section 185 in current regulations. The differences are: #1 – Current regulations require documentation of 15 hours of CE for each year the applicant has been licensed for a maximum of 60 hours; proposed regulations require 10 hours for each year for a maximum of 30 hours. #2 – Current regulations permit an applicant to either meet the qualifications for initial licensure or provide evidence of active practice for 3 of the past 5 years. In the amended regulation, passage of the qualifying examination is required for licensure. #3 – Currently, regulations require a <i>"current</i> license" in another jurisdiction <i>in the</i> <i>U.S.</i> ; proposed regulations allow the license to be lapsed but eligible for reinstatement and in another U. S. jurisdiction. Current regulations specify that the applicant	<ul> <li>#1 – Ten hours per year is consistent with the proposed requirement for renewal of an active license in Virginia. In the proposed regulation, the maximum hourly requirement would be 30 hours versus the current 60 hours and would be much less burdensome. An applicant may use a current certificate from ASHA or ABA to satisfy the continuing education requirement.</li> <li>#2 – The Board has determined that evidence of an examination is necessary to ensure that minimum competency to practice in Virginia can be assured. Current certification from ASHA or ABA would provide such evidence because those credentialing bodies require graduate degrees and passage of an examination for issuance of certification. If the applicant has not maintained current certification, he can provide an exam score to verify qualification.</li> <li>#3 - The proposed regulations will allow an applicant with a lapsed license in another jurisdiction to be licensed by endorsement without having to meet requirements for initial licensure, if the licensee is eligible for reinstatement. Current regulations restrict licensure by endorsement to a licensee of another state in the</li> </ul>
L		must provide evidence	U.S.; proposed regulations will

		that no disciplinary action has been taken or is pending; proposed regulations specify that no disciplinary action is pending or unresolved. #4 – Current regulations require an applicant to meet the qualifications for initial licensure or have active practice for 3 of the past 5 years. Proposed regulations require active practice in another U. S. jurisdiction for at least one of the past three years or practice for six months with a provisional license.	<ul> <li>include U. S. territories.</li> <li>An applicant may have had a previous disciplinary action for a minor violation that would not constitute grounds for denial in Virginia (i.e., failure to obtain required CE). The proposed regulation is less restrictive and more reasonable.</li> <li>#4 – Evidence of active practice is required by it would be one of the past 3 years rather than 3 of the past 5 years. Additionally, the Board would be able to issue a provisional license for 6 months of practice under supervision if the applicant does not have the requisite year of active practice</li> </ul>
90	Renewal requirements A. A person who desires to renew his license shall, not later than December 31 of each year, submit the renewal notice and applicable renewal fee. A licensee who fails to renew his license by the expiration date shall have a lapsed license, and practice with a lapsed license, and practice with a lapsed license may constitute grounds for disciplinary action by the board. B. A person who fails to renew his license by the expiration date may renew at any time within one year of expiration by submission of a renewal notice, the renewal fee and late fee, and statement of compliance with continuing education requirements.	Provisions of section 100 are identical to those currently found in section 150.	
100	Continuing education requirements for renewal of an active license A. In order to renew an active license, a licensee shall complete at least 10 contact hours of continuing education prior to December 31 of each year. Up to 10 contact hours of continuing education in excess of the number required for renewal may be transferred or credited to the next renewal year. B. Continuing learning activities shall be activities, programs or courses related to speech-language pathology or audiology, depending on the license held, and offered or approved by one of the following accredited sponsors or organizations sanctioned by the profession:	Continuing education (CE) requirements for renewal of licensure are currently found in section 300. Currently, regulations require 30 hours within 2 years preceding licensure; proposed regulations will require 10 hours in the year preceding annual renewal and eliminate "Type 2 hours." A licensee will be able to carry over up to 10 hours and have them credited to the next year.	When renewal was changed from biennial to annual in 2004, the section on CE was not amended, so the requirement remained 30 hours within 2 years preceding renewal. The difference between the CE requirement and the renewal of license has been confusing, so the annual time frame has been made consistent. Maintenance of ASHA certification requires 30 hours of verifiable, approved continuing education every 3 years; so the Board believes it is less burdensome to licensees to require 10 hours per year for annual renewal. The

	1	
1. The Speech-Language Hearing		Board has also eliminated credit for
Association of Virginia or similar state	Subsection B, which	Type 2 hours, which are not
speech-language hearing association of	listed the approved	offered by an approved sponsor or
another state;	sponsors or providers is	provider and are not verifiable. To
2. The American Academy of	almost identical to the	allow for credit for lengthy and in-
Audiology;	listing in section 300 of	depth CE coursework, a licensee
3. The American Speech-Language	current regulations; in	will be allowed to carry-over up to
Hearing Association;	proposed regulations, a	10 hours to the next renewal cycle.
4. The Accreditation Council on	sponsor approved by the	-
Continuing Medical Education of the	Board has been	The elimination of board-approved
American Medical Association offering	eliminated.	sponsors will not have an impact
Category I continuing medical		because there is a wide range of CE
education;		providers or sponsors approved by
5. Local, state or federal	Subsection C is similar to	regulation in subsection B.
government agencies;	subsection B of section	
6. Colleges and universities;	300 in current regulations	
7. International Association of	in that there is credit	
Continuing Education and Training; or	allowed for someone who	
8. Health care organizations	is dually licensed. Rather	
accredited by the Joint Commission on	than 10 hours for each	
Accreditation of Healthcare	profession, the licensee is	
Organizations (JCAHO).	required to obtain 15	
C. If the licensee is dually licensed	hours with a minimum of	
by this board as an audiologist and	half the hours directed to	
speech-language pathologist, a total of	each profession.	
no more than 15 continuing learning	Subsection D is similar to	
hours are required for renewal of both licenses with a minimum of 7.5 contact	subsection C in current	
hours in each profession.	regulations, but the	
D. A licensee shall be exempt from	incorrect reference to	
the continuing competency requirements	<i>biennial</i> renewal is	
for the first renewal following the date	eliminated.	
of initial licensure in Virginia under	Solore et an Elizaber il ante	
18VAC30-20-60.	Subsection E is similar to	
E. The licensee shall retain all	subsection D in current	
continuing education documentation for	regulations, but the	
a period of three years following the	retention period is	
renewal of an active license.	changed from 4 years to 3	
Documentation from the sponsor or		
organization shall include the title of the	"supporting	
course, the name of the sponsoring	documentation" is further	
organization, the date of the course and	specified so licensees will	
the number of hours credited.	know what information	
F. The board may grant an	must be retained in the	
extension of the deadline for continuing	event they are audited.	
competency requirements, for up to one		
year, for good cause shown upon a	Subsection F is similar to	
written request from the licensee prior to	subsection G in current	
the renewal date of December 31st.	regulations.	
G. The board may grant an		
exemption for all or part of the	Subsection G is taken	
requirements for circumstances beyond	from subsection H in	
the control of the licensee, such as	current regulation in	
temporary disability, mandatory military	section 300.	
service, or officially declared disasters.		

	H. The board shall periodically conduct an audit for compliance with continuing education requirements. Licensees selected for an audit conducted by the board shall complete the Continued Education Activity and Assessment Form and provide all supporting documentation within 30 days of receiving notification of the audit. I. Failure to comply with these requirements may subject the licensee to	Subsection H is similar to subsection E in current regulations. Subsection I is identical to subsection F in current regulations.	
	disciplinary action by the board.		
110	Inactive licensure; reactivation for		
	audiologist and speech-language		
	pathologists.		
	A. speech-language pathologist or	Rules for an inactive	
	audiologist who holds a current,	license in subsection A	
	unrestricted license in Virginia may, upon a request on the renewal	are identical to section 310 in current regulations.	
	application and submission of the	5 to in current regulations.	
	required fee, be issued an inactive		
	license. The holder of an inactive license		
	shall not be required to maintain		
	continuing competency requirements		
	and shall not be entitled to perform any		
	act requiring a license to practice speech-language pathology or audiology	Subsection B is the same	If a licensee has maintained ASHA
	in Virginia.	as subsection A of section	certification, it is sufficient
	B. A licensee whose license has	320 in current rules,	evidence that he has completed at
	been inactive and who requests	except: 1) the number of	least 10 hours of CE each year in
	reactivation of an active license shall file	CE hours is capped at 30	which his license has been inactive.
	an application, pay the difference	in the proposed	If he does not have ASHA
	between the inactive and active renewal	regulation, and it is equal	certification, he has to complete a
	fees for the current year, and provide documentation of current ASHA	to the number of years,	maximum of 30 hours of CE.
	certification or of having completed 10	not to exceed four years in the current regulation;	
	continued competency hours equal to the	and 2) an applicant for	
	requirement for the number of years in	reactivation may submit	
	which the license has been inactive, not	documentation of current	
	to exceed 30 contact hours.	ASHA certification as	
	C. A licensee who does not	evidence of continued	Whether a licensee has taken an
	reactivate within five years shall meet	competency.	inactive status or allowed his
	the requirements of subsection B of this section and shall either:	Rules in subsection C for	license to lapse, he was not authorized to practice in Virginia.
	1. Meet the requirements for initial	reactivation of a license	After five years, the Board needs
	licensure as prescribed by	inactive for five or more	some additional evidence of
	18VAC30-21-60; or	years are new in proposed	competency to return to active
	2. Provide documentation of a	regulation.	practice. If the licensee has
	current license in another		continued to practice in another
	jurisdiction in the United States and		state for at least 1 or the 3 years,
	evidence of active practice for at		that can suffice as evidence of
	least one of the past three years or practice in accordance with		continued competency or he can
	practice in accordance with 18VAC30-21-70 with a provisional		work under a provisional license for 6 months.
L	10111000 21 /0 with a provisional		ior o monuno.

	license for six months and submit a recommendation for licensure from his supervisor. D. If the licensee holds licensure in any other state or jurisdiction, he shall provide evidence that no disciplinary action is pending or unresolved. The board may deny a request for reactivation to any licensee who has been determined to have committed an act in violation of 18VAC30-21-160.	Subsection D is similar to subsection B in section 320 in current regulations. It adds a requirement that the applicant provide evidence that no action is pending or unresolved, <u>if</u> he holds licensure in another state.	Subsection D is necessary to ensure that the Board does not re-license an individual who has a disciplinary history that warrants denial.
120	Reinstatement of a lapsed license for audiologists or speech A. When a license has not been renewed within one year of the expiration date, a person may apply to reinstate his license by submission of a reinstatement application, payment of the reinstatement fee, and submission of documentation of current ASHA certification or at least 10 continuing education hours for each year the license has been lapsed, not to exceed 30 contact hours, obtained during the time the license in Virginia was lapsed. B. A licensee who does not reinstate within five years shall meet the requirements of subsection A of this section and shall either: 1. Reinstate by meeting the requirements for initial licensure as prescribed by 18VAC30-21-60; or 2. Provide documentation of a current license in another U. S. jurisdiction and evidence of active practice for at least one of the past three years or practice in accordance with 18VAC30-21-70 with a provisional licensure from his supervisor. C. If the licensee holds licensure in any other state or jurisdiction, he shall provide evidence that no disciplinary action is pending or unresolved. The board may deny a request for reinstatement to any licensee who has been determined to have committed an act in violation of 18VAC30-21-160.	Rules for reinstatement of a lapsed license in subsection A are identical to section 160 in current regulations; except the CE requirement is 10 hours for each year the license was lapsed, with a maximum of 30 hours, rather than 15 hours with a maximum of 60 hours. Additionally, the applicant may use current ASHA certification as evidence of competency. Subsection B is similar to current rules and policy for reinstatement of a license lapsed five or more years. However, the current requirement is evidence of practice for <b>3</b> <b>of the past 5 years</b> . In current regulations, only an audiology applicant could qualify for a provisional license to practice for 6 months under supervision. Subsection C is similar to subsection C of section 160 in current rules, but an applicant may not have disciplinary action that is "pending or unresolved." Current regulations say an action may not have been "taken."	The intent of the proposed rules is to make reinstatement of a lapsed license less burdensome, while continuing to protect the public if a licensee has been out of practice for five or more years.

130	Reactivation or reinstatement of a		
	school speech-language pathologist		
	A. A school speech-language	This is a new section in	The intent is to specify a pathway
	pathologist whose license has been	regulation. The Code	for reactivation or reinstatement of
	inactive and who requests reactivation of	specifies the	a school speech-language
	an active license shall file an application	qualifications for	pathology license.
	and pay the difference between the	licensure as a school	paniology needse.
	inactive and active renewal fees for the	speech-language	
	current year. A school speech-language	pathologist, so licensure	
	pathologist whose license has lapsed and	by any method must be	
	who requests reinstatement shall file an	consistent.	
	application and pay the reinstatement fee	consistent.	
	as set forth in 18VAC30-20-40.		
	B. The board may reactivate or	The Board has authority	
	reinstate licensure as a school speech-	to deny a license to	
	language pathologist to an applicant	anyone who is found in	
	who:	violation of rules for	
	1. Holds a master's degree in	unprofessional conduct.	
	speech-language-pathology; and	unprofessional conduct.	
	2. Holds a current endorsement in		
	speech-language pathology from the		
	Virginia Department of Education.		
	C. The board may deny a request for		
	reactivation or reinstatement to any		
	licensee who has been determined to		
	have committed an act in violation of		
	18VAC30-21-160.		
	18 V AC30-21-100.		
131		Section 131 is dentical to	Section 131 was added to
131	Performance of flexible endoscopic	Section 131 is dentical to section 161 in the	Section 131 was added to incorporate a regulatory action
131		section 161 in the	Section 131 was added to incorporate a regulatory action that became effective after the
131	Performance of flexible endoscopic		incorporate a regulatory action that became effective after the
131	Performance of flexible endoscopic	section 161 in the current regulation	incorporate a regulatory action
131	Performance of flexible endoscopic	section 161 in the current regulation which became effective	incorporate a regulatory action that became effective after the submission of this proposed
	<b>Performance of</b> flexible endoscopic evaluation of swallowing	section 161 in the current regulation which became effective	incorporate a regulatory action that became effective after the submission of this proposed
	Performance of flexible endoscopic evaluation of swallowing Supervision of unlicensed assistants	section 161 in the current regulation which became effective on 10/7/15.	incorporate a regulatory action that became effective after the submission of this proposed
	Performance of flexible endoscopic evaluation of swallowing Supervision of unlicensed assistants A. If a licensed audiologist and	section 161 in the current regulation which became effective on 10/7/15. Subsection A on	incorporate a regulatory action that became effective after the submission of this proposed
	Performance of flexible endoscopic evaluation of swallowing         Supervision of unlicensed assistants         A. If a licensed audiologist and speech-language pathologist has unlicensed assistants, he shall document	section 161 in the current regulation which became effective on 10/7/15. Subsection A on supervision of unlicensed assistants is identical to	incorporate a regulatory action that became effective after the submission of this proposed
	Performance of flexible endoscopic evaluation of swallowing         Supervision of unlicensed assistants         A. If a licensed audiologist and speech-language pathologist has	section 161 in the current regulation which became effective on 10/7/15. Subsection A on supervision of unlicensed assistants is identical to	incorporate a regulatory action that became effective after the submission of this proposed
	Performance of flexible endoscopic evaluation of swallowing         Supervision of unlicensed assistants         A. If a licensed audiologist and speech-language pathologist has unlicensed assistants, he shall document supervision of them, shall be held fully	section 161 in the current regulation which became effective on 10/7/15. Subsection A on supervision of unlicensed assistants is identical to subsection A of section	incorporate a regulatory action that became effective after the submission of this proposed
	Performance of flexible endoscopic evaluation of swallowing         Supervision of unlicensed assistants         A. If a licensed audiologist and speech-language pathologist has unlicensed assistants, he shall document supervision of them, shall be held fully responsible for their performance and	section 161 in the current regulation which became effective on 10/7/15. Subsection A on supervision of unlicensed assistants is identical to subsection A of section 240 in current regulations,	incorporate a regulatory action that became effective after the submission of this proposed
	Performance of flexible endoscopic evaluation of swallowing Supervision of unlicensed assistants A. If a licensed audiologist and speech-language pathologist has unlicensed assistants, he shall document supervision of them, shall be held fully responsible for their performance and activities, and shall ensure that they	section 161 in the current regulation which became effective on 10/7/15. Subsection A on supervision of unlicensed assistants is identical to subsection A of section 240 in current regulations, except the proposed	incorporate a regulatory action that became effective after the submission of this proposed
	Performance of flexible endoscopic evaluation of swallowing Supervision of unlicensed assistants A. If a licensed audiologist and speech-language pathologist has unlicensed assistants, he shall document supervision of them, shall be held fully responsible for their performance and activities, and shall ensure that they perform only those activities which do	section 161 in the current regulation which became effective on 10/7/15. Subsection A on supervision of unlicensed assistants is identical to subsection A of section 240 in current regulations, except the proposed regulation notes that it is	incorporate a regulatory action that became effective after the submission of this proposed
	Performance of flexible endoscopic evaluation of swallowingSupervision of unlicensed assistants A. If a licensed audiologist and speech-language pathologist has unlicensed assistants, he shall document supervision of them, shall be held fully responsible for their performance and activities, and shall ensure that they perform only those activities which do not constitute the practice of audiology	section 161 in the current regulation which became effective on 10/7/15. Subsection A on supervision of unlicensed assistants is identical to subsection A of section 240 in current regulations, except the proposed regulation notes that it is only applicable to	incorporate a regulatory action that became effective after the submission of this proposed
	Performance of flexible endoscopic evaluation of swallowingSupervision of unlicensed assistantsA. If a licensed audiologist and speech-language pathologist has unlicensed assistants, he shall document supervision of them, shall be held fully responsible for their performance and activities, and shall ensure that they perform only those activities which do not constitute the practice of audiology or speech-language pathology and which	section 161 in the current regulation which became effective on 10/7/15. Subsection A on supervision of unlicensed assistants is identical to subsection A of section 240 in current regulations, except the proposed regulation notes that it is only applicable to licensees who supervise	incorporate a regulatory action that became effective after the submission of this proposed
	Performance of flexible endoscopic evaluation of swallowing Supervision of unlicensed assistants A. If a licensed audiologist and speech-language pathologist has unlicensed assistants, he shall document supervision of them, shall be held fully responsible for their performance and activities, and shall ensure that they perform only those activities which do not constitute the practice of audiology or speech-language pathology and which are commensurate with their level of	section 161 in the current regulation which became effective on 10/7/15. Subsection A on supervision of unlicensed assistants is identical to subsection A of section 240 in current regulations, except the proposed regulation notes that it is only applicable to licensees who supervise	incorporate a regulatory action that became effective after the submission of this proposed regulation on Townhall.
	Performance of flexible endoscopic evaluation of swallowing Supervision of unlicensed assistants A. If a licensed audiologist and speech-language pathologist has unlicensed assistants, he shall document supervision of them, shall be held fully responsible for their performance and activities, and shall ensure that they perform only those activities which do not constitute the practice of audiology or speech-language pathology and which are commensurate with their level of training.	section 161 in the current regulation which became effective on 10/7/15. Subsection A on supervision of unlicensed assistants is identical to subsection A of section 240 in current regulations, except the proposed regulation notes that it is only applicable to licensees who supervise assistants.	incorporate a regulatory action that became effective after the submission of this proposed regulation on Townhall.
	Performance of flexible endoscopic evaluation of swallowing Supervision of unlicensed assistants A. If a licensed audiologist and speech-language pathologist has unlicensed assistants, he shall document supervision of them, shall be held fully responsible for their performance and activities, and shall ensure that they perform only those activities which do not constitute the practice of audiology or speech-language pathology and which are commensurate with their level of training. B. A licensee may delegate to an	section 161 in the current regulation which became effective on 10/7/15. Subsection A on supervision of unlicensed assistants is identical to subsection A of section 240 in current regulations, except the proposed regulation notes that it is only applicable to licensees who supervise assistants. Subsection B is new in	incorporate a regulatory action that became effective after the submission of this proposed regulation on Townhall. The Board frequently has questions about what may be delegated to an
	Performance of flexible endoscopic evaluation of swallowing         Supervision of unlicensed assistants         A. If a licensed audiologist and speech-language pathologist has unlicensed assistants, he shall document supervision of them, shall be held fully responsible for their performance and activities, and shall ensure that they perform only those activities which do not constitute the practice of audiology or speech-language pathology and which are commensurate with their level of training.         B. A licensee may delegate to an unlicensed assistant such activities or	section 161 in the current regulation which became effective on 10/7/15. Subsection A on supervision of unlicensed assistants is identical to subsection A of section 240 in current regulations, except the proposed regulation notes that it is only applicable to licensees who supervise assistants. Subsection B is new in	incorporate a regulatory action that became effective after the submission of this proposed regulation on Townhall. The Board frequently has questions about what may be delegated to an unlicensed assistant. It does not
	Performance of flexible endoscopic evaluation of swallowingSupervision of unlicensed assistantsA. If a licensed audiologist and speech-language pathologist has unlicensed assistants, he shall document supervision of them, shall be held fully responsible for their performance and activities, and shall ensure that they perform only those activities which do not constitute the practice of audiology or speech-language pathology and which are commensurate with their level of training.B. A licensee may delegate to an unlicensed assistant such activities or functions that are non-discretionary and	section 161 in the current regulation which became effective on 10/7/15. Subsection A on supervision of unlicensed assistants is identical to subsection A of section 240 in current regulations, except the proposed regulation notes that it is only applicable to licensees who supervise assistants. Subsection B is new in	incorporate a regulatory action that became effective after the submission of this proposed regulation on Townhall. The Board frequently has questions about what may be delegated to an unlicensed assistant. It does not believe regulations should attempt
	Performance of flexible endoscopic evaluation of swallowing         Supervision of unlicensed assistants         A. If a licensed audiologist and speech-language pathologist has unlicensed assistants, he shall document supervision of them, shall be held fully responsible for their performance and activities, and shall ensure that they perform only those activities which do not constitute the practice of audiology or speech-language pathology and which are commensurate with their level of training.         B. A licensee may delegate to an unlicensed assistant such activities or functions that are non-discretionary and do not require the exercise of	section 161 in the current regulation which became effective on 10/7/15. Subsection A on supervision of unlicensed assistants is identical to subsection A of section 240 in current regulations, except the proposed regulation notes that it is only applicable to licensees who supervise assistants. Subsection B is new in	incorporate a regulatory action that became effective after the submission of this proposed regulation on Townhall. The Board frequently has questions about what may be delegated to an unlicensed assistant. It does not believe regulations should attempt to state a laundry list of duties and
	Performance of flexible endoscopic evaluation of swallowing Supervision of unlicensed assistants A. If a licensed audiologist and speech-language pathologist has unlicensed assistants, he shall document supervision of them, shall be held fully responsible for their performance and activities, and shall ensure that they perform only those activities which do not constitute the practice of audiology or speech-language pathology and which are commensurate with their level of training. B. A licensee may delegate to an unlicensed assistant such activities or functions that are non-discretionary and do not require the exercise of professional judgment for their	section 161 in the current regulation which became effective on 10/7/15. Subsection A on supervision of unlicensed assistants is identical to subsection A of section 240 in current regulations, except the proposed regulation notes that it is only applicable to licensees who supervise assistants. Subsection B is new in	incorporate a regulatory action that became effective after the submission of this proposed regulation on Townhall. The Board frequently has questions about what may be delegated to an unlicensed assistant. It does not believe regulations should attempt to state a laundry list of duties and tasks, but it does need to specify
	Performance of flexible endoscopic evaluation of swallowingSupervision of unlicensed assistants A. If a licensed audiologist and speech-language pathologist has unlicensed assistants, he shall document supervision of them, shall be held fully responsible for their performance and activities, and shall ensure that they perform only those activities which do not constitute the practice of audiology or speech-language pathology and which are commensurate with their level of training. B. A licensee may delegate to an unlicensed assistant such activities or functions that are non-discretionary and do not require the exercise of professional judgment for their performance.	section 161 in the current regulation which became effective on 10/7/15. Subsection A on supervision of unlicensed assistants is identical to subsection A of section 240 in current regulations, except the proposed regulation notes that it is only applicable to licensees who supervise assistants. Subsection B is new in the proposed regulations.	incorporate a regulatory action that became effective after the submission of this proposed regulation on Townhall. The Board frequently has questions about what may be delegated to an unlicensed assistant. It does not believe regulations should attempt to state a laundry list of duties and tasks, but it does need to specify the types of activities and functions
	Performance of flexible endoscopic evaluation of swallowingSupervision of unlicensed assistants A. If a licensed audiologist and speech-language pathologist has unlicensed assistants, he shall document supervision of them, shall be held fully responsible for their performance and activities, and shall ensure that they perform only those activities which do not constitute the practice of audiology or speech-language pathology and which are commensurate with their level of training. B. A licensee may delegate to an unlicensed assistant such activities or functions that are non-discretionary and do not require the exercise of professional judgment for their performance. C. The identity of the unlicensed	section 161 in the current regulation which became effective on 10/7/15. Subsection A on supervision of unlicensed assistants is identical to subsection A of section 240 in current regulations, except the proposed regulation notes that it is only applicable to licensees who supervise assistants. Subsection B is new in the proposed regulations.	incorporate a regulatory action that became effective after the submission of this proposed regulation on Townhall. The Board frequently has questions about what may be delegated to an unlicensed assistant. It does not believe regulations should attempt to state a laundry list of duties and tasks, but it does need to specify the types of activities and functions that may be appropriately

	part of the client's file.		health professional regulations on delegation (See § 54.1-2901 #6).
150	Prohibited conduct. A. No person unless otherwise licensed to do so, shall prepare, order, dispense, alter or repair hearing aids or parts of or attachments to hearing aids for consideration. However, audiologists licensed under this chapter may make earmold impressions and prepare and alter earmolds for clinical use and research. B. No person licensed as a school speech-language pathologist shall conduct the practice of speech-language pathology outside the scope of the public school setting.	The prohibited conduct set out in section 150 is identical to language in section 230 of current regulations.	
160	Unprofessional conduct. The board may refuse to issue a license to any applicant, suspend a license for a stated period of time or indefinitely, reprimand a licensee or place his license on probation with such terms and conditions and for such time as it may designate, impose a monetary penalty, or revoke a license for any of the following: 1. Guarantee of the results of any speech, voice, language, or hearing consultative or therapeutic procedure or	Provisions on unprofessional conduct are similar to those in section 280 of current regulations, with a few additions: #1 is taken from ## 1 and 4 in current regulation.	
	exploitation of clients by accepting them for treatment when benefit cannot reasonably be expected to occur, or by continuing treatment unnecessarily; 2. Diagnosis or treatment of speech, voice, language, and hearing disorders solely by written correspondence, provided this shall not preclude: a. Follow-up by written correspondence or electronic communication concerning individuals previously seen; or b. Providing clients with general	#2 is identical to #2 in current regulation.	Failure to comply with disclosure requirements for patient records is currently not a citable violation. Practitioners licensed by this board
	<ul> <li>information of an educational nature;</li> <li>3. Failure to comply with provisions of § 32.1-127.1:03 of the Code of Virginia related to the confidentiality and disclosure of client records or related to provision of client records to another practitioner or to the client or his personal representative;</li> <li>4. Failure to properly manage and keep timely, accurate, legible and complete client records, to include the following:</li> </ul>	<ul> <li>#3 is similar to provisions in current #3 in section 280, but is more explicit about patient records by citing § 32.1-127.1:03.</li> <li>#4 is new language.</li> </ul>	may be cited for a violation of law governing the practice but adherence to law on client records is not specified as unprofessional conduct. Likewise, there are currently no rules for maintenance of patient/client records, so practitioners are uncertain about their responsibilities. The proposed rules are identical to those for professions licensed

a. For licensees who are employed by a		under the Board of Medicine.
health care institution, school system or		
other entity, in which the individual		
practitioner does not own or maintain his		
own records, failure to maintain client		
records in accordance with the policies		
and procedures of the employing entity;		
or		
b. For licensees who are self-employed		
or employed by an entity in which the		
individual practitioner does own and is		
responsible for client records, failure to		
maintain a client record for a minimum		
of six years following the last client		
encounter with the following exceptions:		
(1) For records of a minor child, the		
minimum time is six years from the		
last client encounter or until the		
child reaches the age of 18 or becomes emancipated, whichever is		
longer; or		
(2) Records that have previously		
been transferred to another		#5 – While the Board does not
practitioner or health care provider		often encounter professional
or provided to the client or his		boundary issues with these
personal representative as		professions, there should be
documented in a record or database		provisions that would allow a
maintained for a minimum of six		citable violation if the facts of a
years;		case warrant disciplinary action.
5. Engaging or attempting to engage	#5 Provisions on	The language adopted is similar to
in a relationship with a client that	professional boundaries	provisions in regulations for
constitutes a professional boundary	are new in proposed	dentistry, nursing and other
violation in which the practitioner uses	regulations.	professions.
his professional position to take		Ţ · · · · · · ·
advantage of the vulnerability of a client		
or his family, including but not limited		
to sexual misconduct with a client or a		
member of his family or other conduct		
that results or could result in personal		
gain at the expense of the client;		
6. Incompetence or negligence in		
the practice of the profession;	## 6 through 11 are found	
7. Failure to comply with applicable	in current regulations in	
state and federal statutes or regulations	section 280 as ## 5	
specifying the consultations and	through 10	
examinations required prior to the fitting		
of a new or replacement prosthetic aid		
for any communicatively impaired		
person;		
8. Failure to refer a client to an		
appropriate health care practitioner when		
there is evidence of an impairment for		
which assessment, evaluation, care or		
treatment might be necessary;		
9. Failure to supervise persons who		

	1		
	assist them in the practice of speech- language pathology and audiology as well as failure to disclose the use and identity of unlicensed assistants; 10. Conviction of a felony or a misdemeanor involving moral turpitude; 11. Violating or cooperating with others in violating any of the provisions of Chapters 1 (§ 54.1-100 et seq.), 24 (§ 54.1-2400 et seq.), 26 (§ 54.1-2600 et seq.) of the Code of Virginia or regulations of the board; 12. Publishing or causing to be published in any manner an advertisement relating to his professional practice which is false, deceptive or misleading; 13. Inability to practice with skill	<ul> <li>#11 is general language used by other boards to reference Code sections applicable to health professions and to these licensees in particular.</li> <li>#12, relating specifically to advertisement is new.</li> <li>#13 is identical to #12 in</li> </ul>	While ##11 and 12 are new for this chapter, they are commonly cited as unprofessional conduct in regulations for other professions. Currently, the Board has a prohibition on "making material misrepresentation," but nothing that specifically addresses false, misleading or deceptive advertising.
	and safety; 14. Fraud, deceit or misrepresentation in the provision of documentation or information to the board or in the practice of audiology or speech-language pathology; 15. Aiding and abetting unlicensed activity; or 16. Revocation, suspension, restriction or any other discipline of a license or certificate to practice or surrender of license or certificate while investigation or administrative proceedings are pending in another regulatory agency in Virginia, another U. S. jurisdiction or a foreign jurisdiction.	current section 280. #14 is a combination of ##13 and 14 in current regulation, but is more specific about misrepresentation of one's professional credentials to include submission of applications or supervisory forms. #15 is identical to #15 in current section 280. #16 is similar to #16 in current section 280, except another regulatory agency is included.	In #16, another regulatory agency was included because the Board recently was notified of the revocation of a hearing aid license and could not specifically use that revocation to discipline the license of the audiologist. A similar situation could arise in which a teaching license of a speech- language pathologist could be revoked for cause by the Department of Education, and the Board would need to cite that action to revoke the practitioner license.
170	Criteria for delegation to an agency subordinate. A. Decision to delegate. In accordance with § 54.1-2400 (10) of the Code of Virginia, the board may delegate an informal fact-finding proceeding to an agency subordinate upon determination that probable cause exists that a practitioner may be subject to a disciplinary action. B. Criteria for delegation. Cases that may not be delegated to an agency subordinate include, but are not limited to, those that involve: 1. Intentional or negligent conduct that causes or is likely to cause injury to a patient; 2. Mandatory suspension resulting from action by another jurisdiction or a	All of section 170 is identical to section 290 in current regulations.	

felony conviction;	
3. Impairment with an inability to	
practice with skill and safety;	
4. Sexual misconduct;	
5. Unauthorized practice.	
C. Criteria for an agency	
subordinate.	
1. An agency subordinate	
authorized by the board to conduct an	
informal fact-finding proceeding may	
include board members and professional	
staff or other persons deemed	
knowledgeable by virtue of their training	
and experience in administrative	
proceedings involving the regulation and	
discipline of health professionals.	
2. The executive director shall	
maintain a list of appropriately qualified	
persons to whom an informal fact-	
finding proceeding may be delegated.	
3. The board may delegate to the	
executive director the selection of the	
agency subordinate who is deemed	
appropriately qualified to conduct a	
proceeding based on the qualifications of	
the subordinate and the type of case	
being heard.	